Organizational Structure

PROTEC17 is governed by our members via the Regional Executive Committee who are guided by our constitution and a common mission to improve the lives of our families and communities. The PROTEC17 Executive Board is the equivalent of a board of directors, with a President, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, and three Trustees. The Board meets monthly to make policy decisions between REC meetings and exercises financial oversight of our operations. Each board member is elected by a membership-wide vote and serves a three-year term. The day-to-day administrative and financial operations of PROTEC17 are the responsibility of the Executive Director, who reports to the Executive Board. The Executive Director hires and supervises PROTEC17 staff and serves as an official representative of PROTEC17 in labor relations and business matters. PROTEC 17 staff are experts in their fields. From labor relations and labor law professionals, to communications, research, financial and political specialists, PROTEC17 staff help the organization achieve its goals. And many staff members are PROTEC17 members themselves!

Executive Board

  • Vacant President
  • Sean Simmons Vice President
  • Vacant Secretary-Treasurer
  • Jessica Garcia Trustee
  • Mary Davis Trustee
  • Sarah Spotts Trustee


  • Karen Estevenin Executive Director
  • Denise Cobden Union Representative
  • Annie Costello Union Representative
  • Anthony Davidson Operations Director
  • Deidre Girard Communications Director
  • Alisha Gregory Davis Union Representative
  • Alex Il Union Representative
  • Elliot Levin Research Director and Legislative Advocate
  • Sarah Lorenzini Union Representative
  • Melissa Mafua Union Organizer
  • Paul Marvy Projects Administrator
  • Jackie Miller Finance Director
  • Vince Oliveri Strategic Initiatives Director
  • Steven Pray Union Representative
  • Xuan-Trang Tran-Thien Union Organizer
  • Shaun Van Eyk Union Representative
  • Brent Wagar Union Representative
  • Lorelei Walker Union Representative
  • Rachel Whiteside Union Representative
  • Alexis Young Union Representative
  • Donna Clarke Communications Specialist
  • Laura Elia Membership Administrator