Native Land Acknowledgment

PROTEC17 would like to acknowledge what has been buried, by honoring the truth that we are all on the ancestral and unceded lands of many Indigenous, Tribal communities, and First Nations people — a people that are still here, continuing to honor and bring light to their heritage.

The map above is from a resource called Native Land Digital. It is constantly changing and regularly updated. Please visit their website at to learn more about the indigenous communities in your region. You can also email  for additions, corrections, and for more information about this important reference.


PROTEC17 has begun a practice of Native Land and Tribal acknowledgement in order to do our part in honoring and promoting greater public consciousness of Native sovereignty and cultural rights. The resources and links on this page are by no means comprehensive. We acknowledge that we are in a constant state of learning and are continually growing in our knowledge of Native history, rights, and issues. We invite you to collectively join us as we learn and pay reparations to Indigenous tribes together. If you have additions, edits or comments about this page, please let us know at .

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is a land acknowledgement?

A: A Land Acknowledgment is a formal statement that recognizes and respects Indigenous Peoples as traditional stewards of this land and the enduring relationship that exists between Indigenous Peoples and their traditional territories. Acknowledging the land is also Indigenous protocol.

Q: Why do we recognize the land?

A: Publicly acknowledging the land is an expression of gratitude and appreciation for the original stewards of the land where you reside, and a way of acknowledging and honoring the Indigenous people who have been living and working on the land from time immemorial. A land acknowledgment can help us understand our history, encourage learning about Indigenous history and culture, and help begin the process of building accountable relationships that support Indigenous communities.

Q: Which tribes are in Washington State?

A: There are 29 federally recognized tribes throughout Washington and they are: Chehalis, Colville, Cowlitz, Hoh, Jamestown S’Klallam, Kalispel, Lower Elwha Klallam, Lummi, Makah, Muckleshoot, Nisqually, Nooksack, Port Gamble S’Klallam, Puyallup, Quileute, Quinault, Samish, Sauk-Suiattle, Shoalwater Bay, Skokomish, Snoqualmie, Spokane, Squaxin Island, Stillaguamish, Suquamish, Swinomish, Tulalip, Upper Skagit, and Yakama. The Duwamish, Wanapum, and Chinook are not currently recognized by the U.S. federal government but have had a long history in present-day Washington.

Q: Which tribes are in Oregon State?

A: There are nine federally recognized tribes in Oregon: Burns Paiute, Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians, Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon, Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, Coquille Indian Tribe, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians, and the Klamath Tribes.